www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
The Japan Catholic Seminary

Japan Catholic Seminary
Japan Catholic Seminary
Fukuoka Campus
1-1-1 Matsuyama, Jonan-ku
Fukuoka 814-0131, JAPAN

Contact: Fr. Alexis Mitsuru Shirahama, PSS, Rector
Ph.: (81-92) 871-4943
Fax: (81-92) 863-6329
Email: seminary.japan@sulpc.org
Japan Catholic Seminary
Tokyo Campus
2-7-10 Sekimachi-Higashi, Nerima-ku
Tokyo 177-0052, JAPAN

Contact: Fr. John of the Cross Koshi Ito, Vice-Rector
Ph.: (81-3) 3920-2121
Fax: (81-3) 5991-0605
Email: seminary.japan@sulpc.org



In 1932, Bishop Albert Breton of Foreign Missions of Paris asks Saint Sulpice of Canada to establish a seminary in his diocese of Fukuoka. Responding to this request, Fathers Paul-Émile Léger and Charles Prévost arrived at Yokohama on October 17, 1933. Other Sulpicians came to join them. In April 1937, Fathers Paul-Émile Léger and Jacques Trudel open in Omuta a propedeutic year for five seminarians, which became the following year, with the help of Fathers Gaston Aubry and Henri Robillard, the Seminary of Philosophy of Fukuoka. Father Léger, recalled to Canada in April 1939, later became Cardinal-Archbishop of Montreal. Father Robillard became superior of the institution.

japan_sem_01.jpg
During the war, from December 1941 to August 15, 1945, four Canadian confreres, Charles Prévost, Gaston Aubry, Jacques Trudel and Henri Robillard, live the internment. During this period, the first Japanese Sulpician, Fr. Peter Saburo Hirata, runs the seminary alone during a few months and protects the property of Saint Sulpice. It is in April 1948 that opens the Major Regional Seminary of Fukuoka first under the direction of Fr. Henri Robillard, then of Fr. Gaston Aubry in buildings belonging to the Bishop’s Residence of Fukuoka. In 1951, the Major Seminary moves into the new building it still occupies presently.
Saint Sulpice Seminary of Fukuoka.


From 1948 to 2008, the Seminary has trained 268 priests and among them eight bishops. In 1998 a curriculum reform has been completed: instead of welcoming the seminarians at the end of high school for a period of eight years, they are received when they have completed university studies or their equivalent. They then engage in theological studies spread over a period of six years: two years of philosophy and four years of theology.
japan_sem_02.jpg


Saint Sulpice Seminary of Fukuoka.

japan_sem_04.jpg


February 2, 2009 is a significant date for the Sulpicians of the Province of Canada. They celebrated the 75th anniversary of the arrival of the first Canadian Sulpician missionaries to Fukuoka and the 60th anniversary of the founding of the Major Seminary of Saint Sulpice.
Celebration of February 2, 2009 in Fukuoka.


The Japan Catholic Seminary

Since April 1, 2009, the Major Seminary of Saint Sulpice of Fukuoka is officially closed. By the decision of the Bishops' Conference of Japan, a new Major Seminary has been created to better meet the needs of priestly formation in the country. The Japan Catholic Seminary comes under direct jurisdiction all the bishops of Japan (16 dioceses) having for its higher authority the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, which, among other things, appoints the rector. It has two camPSS one in Tokyo for philosophy and diaconal year and one in Fukuoka (in the ancient Seminary of Saint Sulpice) for theology.
The Sulpicians of the Province of Canada have been invited by this new seminary to collaborate in the training of priests in Japan. Its first rector is Fr. Joseph Tsuyomi Makiyama, PSS He directs the formation at both camPSS assisted by five other Sulpician confreres (four Japanese and one Canadian) and five diocesan priests from various dioceses of Japan.
japan_sem_05.jpg


Tokyo Campus.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_sem_japan_en.html

© 2014 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer friendly
version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
Japan Catholic Seminary

Japan Catholic Seminary
Japan Catholic Seminary
Campus de Fukuoka
1-1-1 Matsuyama, Jonan-ku
Fukuoka 814-0131, JAPON


Contacter : M. Alexis Mitsuru Shirahama, PSS, recteur
Tél. : (81-92) 871-4943
Fax: (81-92) 863-6329
Courriel :
seminary.japan@sulpc.org

Japan Catholic Seminary
Campus de Tokyo
2-7-10 Sekimachi-Higashi, Nerima-ku
Tokyo 177-0052, JAPON

Contacter : M. John of the Cross Koshi Ito, vice-recteur
Tél. : (81-3) 3920-2121
Fax : (81-3) 5991-0605
Courriel : seminary.japan@sulpc.org



En 1932, Mgr Albert Breton des Missions Étrangères de Paris demande à Saint-Sulpice du Canada de fonder un séminaire dans son diocèse de Fukuoka. Répondant à cette demande, Messieurs Paul-Émile Léger, PSS et Charles Prévost, PSS arrivent à Yokohama le 17 octobre 1933. D'autres sulpiciens vinrent les rejoindre. En avril 1937, Messieurs Paul-Émile Léger, PSS et Jacques Trudel, PSS ouvrent à Omuta, pour cinq séminaristes, une année propédeutique, qui devint l'année suivante, avec l'aide des Messieurs Gaston Aubry, PSS et Henri Robillard, PSS, le Séminaire de Philosophie de Fukuoka. Monsieur Léger, PSS, rappelé au Canada en avril 1939, deviendra plus tard cardinal-archevêque de Montréal. M. Robillard devint supérieur de l'institution.

japan_sem_01.jpg
Pendant la guerre, de décembre 1941 au 15 août 1945, quatre confrères canadiens, Messieurs Charles Prévost, PSS, Gaston Aubry, PSS, Jacques Trudel, PSSet Henri Robillard, PSS vivent l'internement. Au cours de cette période, le premier Sulpicien japonais, Monsieur Pierre Saburo Hirata, PSS dirige seul durant quelques mois le séminaire et protège les biens de Saint-Sulpice. C'est en avril 1948 que s'ouvre le Grand Séminaire régional de Fukuoka sous la direction d'abord de Monsieur Henri Robillard, PSS puis de Monsieur Gaston Aubry, PSS en des bâtiments appartenant à l'Évêché de Fukuoka. En 1951, le Grand Séminaire emménage dans le nouvel édifice qu'il occupe encore actuellement.
         Séminaire Saint-Sulpice à Fukuoka.

De 1948 à 2008, le Séminaire a formé 268 prêtres dont huit évêques. En 1998 une réforme du curriculum a été complétée : au lieu d'accueillir les séminaristes dès la fin du secondaire pour une période de huit années, on les reçoit quand ils ont complété des études universitaires ou équivalentes. Ils s'engagent alors dans des études de théologie réparties sur six années : deux ans de philosophie et quatre ans de théologie.
japan_sem_02.jpg


Séminaire Saint-Sulpice à Fukuoka.

japan_sem_04.jpg


Le 2 février 2009 est une date significative pour les sulpiciens de la Province du Canada. Ils ont célébré le 75e anniversaire de l'arrivée des premiers missionnaires sulpiciens canadiens à Fukuoka ainsi que le 60e anniversaire de la fondation du Grand Séminaire Saint-Sulpice.
Célébration du 2 février 2009 à Fukuoka.

Le Japan Catholic Seminary

Depuis le 1er avril 2009, le Grand Séminaire Saint-Sulpice de Fukuoka est officiellement fermé. Par la décision de la Conférence des Évêques du Japon, un nouveau Grand Séminaire a été créé pour mieux répondre aux besoins de la formation presbytérale dans tout le pays. Le Japan Catholic Seminary relève directement de tous les évêques japonais (16 diocèses) ayant comme instance supérieure la Congrégation pour l'évangélisation des peuples qui, entre autres, nomme le recteur. Il a deux campus : un à Tokyo pour la philosophie et l'année diaconale et l'autre à Fukuoka (dans l'ancien Séminaire Saint-Sulpice) pour la théologie.

Les Sulpiciens de la Province du Canada ont été invités à collaborer à la formation des prêtres du Japon par ce nouveau séminaire. Le premier recteur est Monsieur Joseph Tsuyomi Makiyama, PSS Il anime la formation donnée dans les deux campus, aidé par cinq autres confrères sulpiciens (quatre japonais et un canadien) et cinq prêtres diocésains de différents diocèses japonais.
japan_sem_05.jpg


Campus de Tokyo.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_sem_japan.html

© 2017 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour
imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu