www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
The Seminary of Edmonton

St. Joseph Seminary of Edmonton

St. Joseph Seminary
9828 - 84 Street NW 

Edmonton, Alberta, T6A 0B2

Contact: Fr. Stephen Hero, Rector
Ph.: (780) 392-2445, ext. 6222
 
Fax: (780) 461-3858
Email: seminary.edmonton@sulpc.org
Website: www.stjoseph-seminary.com


In 1927, His Excellency Henry Joseph O'Leary, Archbishop of Edmonton, opened the St. Joseph Seminary, which then hosted 26 seminarians in the building that previously housed the Scholasticate of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate. The Seminary moved in 1957 to a building on St. Albert Trail (currently Mark Messier Trail).

In 1990, the Canadian Province of the Priests of Saint Sulpice accepted the direction of the seminary and appointed as its first Rector Fr. Lionel Gendron, PSS, presently the Bishop of the Diocese of Saint-Jean-Longueuil. He was succeeded by Fr. Marc Ouellet, PSS (1994), presently Cardinal-Prefect of the Congregation for Bishops, Fr. Jean Papen (1997), Fr. Luc Bouchard (2000), presently Bishop of St. Paul, Fr. Louis-Paul Gauvreau, PSS (2002), Fr. Lionel Gendron, PSS (2003) and Fr. Kevin Beach (2004). The current rector, Fr. Shayne Craig, PSS, directs the community since 2005 and is assisted by 3 Sulpicians and 2 diocesan priests.

In partnership with the Seminary since 1969, the Newman Theological College offers courses in theology and grants academic degrees. The comprehensive formation covers at least a period of five years: two years of formation and of theology at the Seminary, followed by a full year of pastoral internship, then a return to the seminary for a 3rd and 4th year. One can make preliminary studies in philosophy before entering theology either at the Newman Theological College by following two years of courses in philosophy, or at the Concordia University College by completing a B.A. in philosophy. Admission to the program of theology requires a previous university diploma.

http://www.sulpc.org/sjosephgs.jpg

The initiation to the ministry is carried out in three stages:
  • a first insertion in a pastoral environment parallel with studies: under the supervision of a qualified person, one lives an experience in a pastoral setting. A seminar of one semester completes this experience of integration through a theological reflection;
  • after the second year of theology, one full year of pastoral internship in the diocese of origin under the supervision of the local pastor;
  • during the third and fourth year of the seminary, an appointment to a parish on weekends. With the help of the pastor and of the director of pastoral formation, this stage is accompanied by a theological reflection and by learning different ways of living and of exercising the priestly ministry.
Since 1990, the number of seminarians has increased from 20 to 47. Currently there are  42 students in philosophy and in theology and 5 in pastoral year in their diocese.

Chapel
        

The new
                building of St. Joseph Seminary
Chapel.

The new building
of St. Joseph Seminary.


A road development project of the City of Edmonton has compelled the community of the Seminary to abandon the building that housed it since 1957. The new building, under construction since 2008, is located near the Pastoral Center of the Archdiocese of Edmonton. The community has moved into this new space in the end of summer of 2010.




ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_sem_edmonton_en.html

© 2018 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer friendly
version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
Le Séminaire d'Edmonton

Titre

St. Joseph Seminary
9828 - 84 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta, T6A 0B2

Contacter : M. Stephen Hero, recteur
Tél. (780) 392-2445, p. 6222
Fax (780) 461-3858

Courriel: seminary.edmonton@sulpc.org
Site internet: www.stjoseph-seminary.com

En 1927, Mgr Henry Joseph O'Leary, archevêque d'Edmonton, inaugurait le Séminaire Saint-Joseph qui accueillait alors 26 séminaristes dans la maison qui, auparavant, logeait le Scolasticat des Oblats de Marie-Immaculée. Le Séminaire emménageait en 1957 dans un édifice sur le St. Albert Trail (actuellement Marc Messier Trail).

En 1990, la Province du Canada des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice acceptait la direction du Séminaire et nommait comme premier recteur Monsieur Lionel Gendron, PSS, actuel évêque du diocèse de Saint-Jean-Longueuil. Lui succédèrent Monsieur Marc Ouellet, PSS, (1994) actuel cardinal-préfet de la Congrégation pour les évêques, l'abbé Jean Papen (1997), l'abbé Luc Bouchard, (2000) actuel évêque de Saint-Paul, Monsieur Louis-Paul Gauvreau, PSS (2002), Monsieur Lionel Gendron, PSS (2003) et l'abbé Kevin Beach (2004). Le recteur actuel, Monsieur Shayne Craig, PSS, dirige la maison depuis 2005 et est assisté par trois Sulpiciens et deux prêtres diocésains.

En partenariat avec le Séminaire depuis 1969, le Newman Theological College donne les cours de théologie et accorde les diplômes universitaires. La formation globale couvre au moins une période de cinq années : deux années de formation et de théologie au Séminaire, suivies d'une année entière de stage pastoral, puis, un retour au Séminaire pour une 3e et une 4e année. On peut faire des études préliminaires en philosophie avant d'entrer en théologie, soit au Newman Theological College en suivant deux ans de cours en philosophie, soit au Concordia University College en complétant un baccalauréat en philosophie. L'admission au programme de théologie requiert un premier diplôme universitaire.

http://www.sulpc.org/sjosephgs.jpg

L'initiation au ministère se réalise en trois étapes :

  • une première insertion dans un environnement pastoral parallèle aux études : sous la supervision d'une personne qualifiée, on fait une expérience dans un environnement pastoral ; un séminaire d'un semestre complète cette expérience d'insertion par une réflexion théologique ;
  • après la 2e année de théologie, une année entière de stage pastoral dans le diocèse d'origine sous la supervision du curé du lieu ;
  • durant la 3e et la 4e année au Séminaire, une nomination en paroisse durant les weekends : avec l'aide du curé et du directeur de la formation pastorale, cette étape est accompagnée par une réflexion théologique et par un apprentissage de diverses façons de vivre et d'exercer le ministère presbytéral.
Depuis 1990, le nombre des séminaristes est passé de 20 à 47 : actuellement il y a 42 étudiants en philosophie et en théologie et cinq en année pastorale dans leur diocèse.

Chapelle

The new building of St. Joseph
                Seminary
Chapelle.
                     
Le nouveau bâtiment
du Séminaire Saint-Joseph.

Un projet de développement routier de la Ville d'Edmonton a contraint la communauté du séminaire d'abandonner le bâtiment qui l’a abritée depuis 1957. Le nouveau bâtiment, en construction depuis 2008, est situé près du Centre pastoral de l'archidiocèse d'Edmonton. La communauté a emménagé dans ce nouvel espace à la fin d'été 2010.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_sem_edmonton.html

© 2017 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour
imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu