www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
Saint Sulpice Seminary in Montréal (1657)

Saint Sulpice Seminary in Montreal Le Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice

116, rue Notre-Dame Ouest 

Montréal, QC H2Y 1T2

Contact: Fr. Réal Lévêque, PSS, Director
Ph.: (514) 849-6561, ext. 302
Fax: (514) 286-9021
Email: seminaire.stsulpice@sulpc.org


During the first two years after their arrival in 1657, the Sulpicians are housed by the Religious Hospitallers of St. Joseph in Montreal's first hospital (Hôtel Dieu), whose location in Old Montreal is presently crossed by the Le Royer Street joining the Saint Sulpice Street with the Saint Dizier Street. In 1659, the Sulpicians build a first residence on St. Paul Street. This residence is located on the north side of the street, opposite the Royal Square, the place where royal edicts and orders were read. In 1676, this square, the central place of activities of Montreal’s life, is sold to the inhabitants by the Sulpicians - landlords of the Island of Montreal - to serve as a public square, where twice a week there is a market with over 30 stalls set up by merchants to sell their products. Presently there is no trace of this residence while the Royal Square remains a public space, part of which is occupied by the Custom House, now converted into a souvenir shop of the Pointe-à-Callière Museum.


Beginning in 1685, the Sulpicians occupy the current Seminary of St. Sulpice constructed according to the plans of Fr. François Dollier de Casson, PSS, superior of the Seminary from 1678 to 1701, who built the central wing of the Seminary (1685), and Fr. François Vachon de Belmont, PSS, superior from 1701 to 1732, to whom we owe the two wings (1705), of which only the west wing still exists. The disappearance of the eastern wing dates from the 1850s. It’s because since 1840, Bishop Bourget entrusts to the Sulpicians the responsibility to form the future priests of the diocese. The Sulpicians consider the construction of a building suitable for receiving both the Sulpicians and the seminarians. The architect and surveyor John Ostell, who works for the Sulpicians, finds himself in charge of overseeing the construction of the new building to replace the ancient Seminary. The work that begun in about 1845 is very complex. Some difficulties and various consultations aiming at solving them, lead to the decision to preserve the place of residence in its current state and to locate the place of formation elsewhere.

Since its construction, the Seminary houses the Superior of Saint Sulpice for New France who from 1663 until the abolition of the feudal system in 1854, manages with a financial administrator the seigniory of Montreal and the seigniory of Saint Sulpice. As of 1717, the administration of the seigniory of the Lac des Deux-Montagnes is added.

The Seminary also houses Sulpicians in residence and, until 2008, the rectory of the Parish of Notre-Dame-de-Montréal.

Thus, even today, the Seminary has a multi-purpose vocation:
•    Provincial House
•    Headquarters of the Provincial Administration of Saint Sulpice
•    Centre of the Archives of the Canadian Province
•    Residence for active or retired Sulpicians
•    Service of infirmary

Initially, the superior of the Priests of Saint Sulpice in Montreal assured himself the management of the House with the Provincial Bursary who now bears the title of the Provincial Financial Administrator. Today, in order to concentrate himself on the animation and the direction of the Canadian Province, the Provincial Superior, with the four consultors of the Provincial Council, appoints a director of the House. It is up to this director to lead the community of residents and to provide various services.

sulpc_seminaire_ss.jpg

Saint Sulpice Seminary in Montreal.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_residences_sssm_en.html

© 2018 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer
friendly version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
Le Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice

PROJET 009 DE LA PAGE

Le Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice
116, rue Notre-Dame Ouest
Montréal, QC H2Y 1T2

Contacter : M. Réal Lévêque, PSS, directeur
Tél.: (514) 849-6561, poste 302
Fax: (514) 286-9021
Courriel: seminaire.stsulpice@sulpc.org

Au cours des deux premières années suivant leur arrivée en 1657, les Sulpiciens sont hébergés par les Religieuses Hospitalières de Saint-Joseph dans le premier hôpital de Montréal (l'Hôtel-Dieu) qui occupait un emplacement du Vieux-Montréal maintenant traversé par la rue Le Royer qui relie la rue Saint-Sulpice à la rue Saint-Dizier. En 1659, les Sulpiciens construisent une première résidence sur la rue St-Paul. Cette résidence est située du côté nord de la rue, en face de la Place Royale, ce lieu où se faisait la lecture des édits et ordonnances royaux. En 1676, cette Place, lieu central des activités de la vie montréalaise, est cédée aux habitants par les Sulpiciens - alors seigneurs de l'Île de Montréal - pour y servir de place publique où, deux fois la semaine, s'y tient un marché avec plus de 30 étals tenus par les marchands pour y vendre leurs produits. Actuellement, il ne reste plus trace de cette résidence alors que la Place Royale demeure un espace public dont une partie est occupée par la Maison de la Douane, maintenant convertie en Boutique du Musée de la Pointe-à-Callière.

À compter de 1685, les Sulpiciens occupent l'actuel Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice construit selon les plans des Sulpiciens François Dollier de Casson, supérieur du Séminaire de 1678 à 1701, à qui on doit le corps central du Séminaire (1685), et de François Vachon de Belmont, supérieur de 1701 à 1732, à qui on doit les deux ailes (1705), dont seule l'aile ouest existe toujours. La disparition de l'aile est remonte aux années 1850. C'est que depuis 1840, Monseigneur Bourget confie aux Sulpiciens la responsabilité de former les futurs prêtres du diocèse. Les Sulpiciens envisagent la construction d'un édifice propre à recevoir les Sulpiciens et les séminaristes. L'architecte-arpenteur John Ostell, qui travaille pour les Sulpiciens, est chargé de veiller à la construction du nouveau bâtiment qui doit remplacer le Séminaire. Les travaux, débutés vers les années 1845, sont complexes. Certaines difficultés et diverses consultations pour y remédier mènent à la décision de préserver le lieu de résidence en son état actuel et de localiser le lieu de formation en un autre endroit.

Depuis sa construction, le Séminaire loge le supérieur de Saint-Sulpice pour la Nouvelle-France qui, depuis 1663 et jusqu'à l'abolition du régime seigneurial en 1854, gère avec un économe la seigneurie de Montréal et celle de Saint-Sulpice. À compter de 1717 s'ajoute l'administration de la seigneurie du Lac des Deux-Montagnes.

Le Séminaire abrite également des Sulpiciens en résidence et, jusqu'à 2008, le presbytère de la Paroisse Notre-Dame-de-Montréal.

Ainsi, encore aujourd'hui, le Séminaire a une vocation multiple :

À l'origine, le supérieur des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice à Montréal assurait lui-même la gestion de la Maison avec l'économe provincial qui porte maintenant le titre de procureur provincial. Aujourd'hui, afin de se consacrer à l'animation et à la direction de la Province canadienne, le supérieur provincial, avec les quatre consulteurs du Conseil provincial, nomme un directeur de la Maison. Il incombe à ce directeur d'animer la communauté des résidants et d'assurer divers services.

sulpc_seminaire_ss.jpg

Le Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_residences_sssm.html

© 2017 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour
imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu