www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
Saint Sulpice House in Bogotá (1989)

Saint Sulpice House in Bogota Casa sacerdotal de San Sulpicio
Carrera 62 No 172-41, Barrio San José de Bavaria
Bogotá, D.C., Colombia, A.S.

Contact: Fr. Manuel Bautista, PSSperior
Tel.: (57-1) 679-0736, ext. 231 

Fax: (57-1) 487-0225
Email: casass.bogota@sulpc.org


A Brief History


The Saint Sulpice House in Bogotá is intimately linked to the Sulpician presence in Colombia and in Latin America. After his arrival at the Seminary of Manizales in 1949 and the welcoming of several candidates, Saint Sulpice has to support within a few years various seminaries in Colombia and other Latin American countries (Panama, Guatemala, Venezuela, Brazil). Since the late sixties, when the Society directs a second seminary, that of Bogotá, appears the need for coordination of work and community life of the formation teams.

However, it was not until 1971 that a Provincial Delegation of Priests of Saint Sulpice in Colombia was established, which shortly after became the Provincial Delegation of  the Priests of Saint Sulpice of Canada in Colombia for the Region of Latin America.

Fr. Alberto Giraldo, PSS, a member of the team of Bogotá, was chosen as the first delegate,. He remains in office from 1971 to 1974 when he is appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Popayán. His successors will, like him, realize the importance of a place of belonging proper to Saint Sulpice, the more so since none of the Sulpician seminaries in Colombia, Brazil and Panama belong to the Canadian Province of the Priests  of Saint Sulpice. After several fruitless searches, on October 26, 1988, the delegate of the time, Fr. Arturo Cardona, PSS carries this design thanks to the financial support of the Provincial Financial Administration of Canada. It's in Bogotá that he buys from the Tertiary Capuchin Sisters a house in the Nicolás Federmán neighborhood. It is there that a confrere resides permanently and acts as administrator and superior of the house. The first to occupy this position is Fr. Jorge Jaramillo, PSS who was succeeded by Fr. Alfred Morin, PSS The director welcomes the visiting confreres in the house. Then, over the years, some confreres will take up residence there because they are retiring for reasons of age or health. Soon, the House can no longer satisfy its various administrative and residential functions. In response to this, Fr. Nelson Londoño, PSS, Provincial Delegate from 1996 to 1998, managed to finalize the purchase of a lot located in the San Jose de Bavaria neighborhood, a lot that will lend itself to building a new, larger house.


Construction of the new house

http://www.sulpc.org/sansulpicio1.jpgSaint Sulpice House in Bogotá.

It was his successor at the Delegation, Fr. Álvaro Jaramillo, PSS, deceased in 2002, who, with the Financial Administrator Fr. Gregorio León, PSS, supervises the construction of the new house. Some generous donations from multiple sources cover in a large part the costs incurred. Mention can be made among others of the contributions of various religious communities and multiple instances of Saint Sulpice: the Generalate, the Province of the United States, the Canadian Province and individual confreres  from the Canadian Province. The result is a building that meets all needs. It has 32 rooms, including 12 suites, for the reception of priests not to mention four rooms housing the nuns who provide domestic service. In addition to a refectory and a spacious chapel dedicated to St. Ambrose, the house offers its residents a fairly large library, a conference room and several rooms dedicated to community life. They move in on November 8, 2001 and the official opening takes place on January 9, 2002 in the presence of the Apostolic Nuncio, Archbishop Benniamino Stella, of the President of the Episcopal Conference of Colombia, our confrere His Excellency Alberto Giraldo, PSS Archbishop of Medellín, and several other guests.

http://www.sulpc.org/sansulpicio2.jpgSaint Sulpice House in Bogotá.

Current Situation

The House lodges the Provincial Delegation in Colombia for the Region of Latin America (the delegate and the financial administrator of the Delegation), some retired confreres, candidates to Saint Sulpice doing their studies, as well as some non- Sulpician priests studying at the Instituto de Teología Pastoral para América Latina (ITEPAL) or working in Bogotá.

This community is moderated by its director, Fr. Manuel Bautista PSS and the members of the local council.

Periodically, in January, the House welcomes the official meeting of confreres from Latin America for various study or formation sessions. It is also used for continuing formation sessions for priests in general or for the aspirants to Saint-Sulpice or for the diocesan collaborators of seminaries given to the care of the Canadian Province of Saint Sulpice. The chapel of this house welcomes daily a good number of the faithful who join the priests for the celebration of the Eucharist.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_res_bogota_en.html

© 2018 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer friendly
version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
La Maison sacerdotale de Saint-Sulpice à Bogotá

Titre Casa sacerdotal de San Sulpicio
Carrera 62 No 172-41, Barrio San José de Bavaria

Bogotá, D.C., Colombia, A.S.

Contacter : M. Manuel Bautista, PSS, supérieur
Tél.: (57-1) 679-0736, poste 231
Fax: (57-1) 487-0225
Courriel: casass.bogota@sulpc.org

Historique

La Maison de Saint-Sulpice à Bogotá est intimement liée à la présence sulpicienne en Colombie et en Amérique latine. Après son arrivée au Séminaire de Manizales en 1949 et l'accueil de plusieurs candidats, Saint-Sulpice, en peu d'années, est amené à prendre en charge divers séminaires en Colombie et en d'autres pays d'Amérique latine (Panamá, Guatemala, Venezuela, Brésil). Dès la fin des années soixante, alors que la Compagnie assure la direction d'un deuxième séminaire, celui de Bogotá, on sent le besoin d'une coordination du travail et de la vie communautaire des équipes de formateurs. Toutefois, il faut attendre 1971 pour voir s'établir une Délégation provinciale des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice en Colombie qui, peu après, devient la Délégation provinciale des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice en Colombie pour la région de l'Amérique latine.

Comme premier délégué, on choisit un membre de l'équipe de Bogotá, Monsieur Alberto Giraldo, PSS qui demeure en poste de 1971 à 1974 alors qu'il est nommé évêque auxiliaire de Popayán. Ses successeurs saisiront comme lui l'importance d'un lieu d'appartenance propre à Saint-Sulpice, cela d'autant plus qu'aucun des séminaires sulpiciens de Colombie, du Brésil et de Panamá n'appartenait à la Province canadienne des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice. Après plusieurs recherches infructueuses, le 26 octobre 1988, le délégué de l'époque, Monsieur Arturo Cardona, PSS réalise ce dessein grâce à l'aide financière de la Procure provinciale du Canada. C'est à Bogotá qu'il acquiert des Soeurs Tertiaires Capucines une maison du quartier Nicolás de Federmán. Là réside en permanence un confrère qui agit comme administrateur et supérieur de la Maison. Le premier à occuper ce poste est Monsieur Jorge Jaramillo, PSS auquel succède Monsieur Alfred Morin, PSS Le directeur y accueille les confrères de passage. Puis, avec les années, des confrères y prennent résidence parce qu'ils prennent leur retraite pour des raisons d'âge ou de santé. Bientôt, la Maison ne peut plus suffire à ses diverses fonctions administratives et résidentielles. En réponse à cette situation, Monsieur Nelson Londoño, PSS, le délégué provincial de 1996 à 1998, réussit à compléter l'achat d'un terrain situé dans le quartier San José de Bavaria, lot qui se prêtera à la construction d'une maison plus vaste.

Construction de la nouvelle maison

http://www.sulpc.org/sansulpicio1.jpgMaison de Saint-Sulpice à Bogotá

C'est son successeur à la Délégation, Monsieur Alvaro Jaramillo, PSS, décédé en 2002, qui, avec l'économe Monsieur Gregorio León, PSSpervise la construction de la nouvelle maison. Des dons généreux de sources multiples couvrent en bonne part les frais encourus. On peut mentionner entre autres la contribution de diverses communautés religieuses et de plusieurs instances de Saint-Sulpice : le Généralat, la Province des États-Unis, la Province canadienne et des confrères de la Province canadienne à titre individuel. Il en résulte un édifice qui répond à tous les besoins. Il compte 32 chambres, dont 12 suites, pour l'accueil des prêtres sans compter quatre chambres pour le logement des religieuses qui assurent le service domestique. En plus d'un réfectoire et d'une chapelle spacieuse dédiée à saint Ambroise, il offre à ses résidants une bibliothèque assez vaste, une salle de conférence et plusieurs salles réservées à la vie communautaire. On y emménage le 8 novembre 2001 et l'inauguration officielle a lieu le 9 janvier 2002 en présence du Nonce apostolique, S.E. Mgr Benniamino Stella, du président de la Conférence épiscopale de Colombie, notre confrère S. E. Mgr Alberto Giraldo, PSS archevêque de Medellín, et de plusieurs autres invités.

http://www.sulpc.org/sansulpicio2.jpgMaison de Saint-Sulpice à Bogotá

Situation actuelle

La Maison loge la Délégation provinciale en Colombie pour la région de l'Amérique latine (le délégué et l'économe de la délégation), quelques confrères retraités, des candidats à Saint-Sulpice qui sont aux études, de même que quelques prêtres non sulpiciens qui étudient à l'Instituto de Teología Pastoral para América Latina (ITEPAL) ou qui travaillent à Bogotá.

Cette communauté est animée par son directeur, Monsieur Manuel Bautista, PSS et les membres du Conseil local.

Périodiquement, en janvier, la Maison accueille la réunion officielle des confrères d'Amérique latine pour différentes sessions d'étude ou de ressourcement. Elle sert aussi pour des sessions de formation permanente des prêtres en général ou bien pour des aspirants à Saint-Sulpice ou des collaborateurs diocésains des séminaires confiés à la Province canadienne de Saint-Sulpice. La chapelle de cette maison accueille quotidiennement un bon nombre de fidèles qui se joignent aux prêtres pour la célébration de l'Eucharistie.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_res_bogota.html

© 2017 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour
imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu