www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
Becoming a Sulpician

Becoming a Sulpician Who are the Sulpicians?

Diocesan priests - The Sulpicians form a society of diocesan priests who, after having received permission from their bishop, engage in the ministry specific to the Society of the Priests of Saint Sulpice.

Community life – The Society of Saint Sulpice is a society of apostolic life of pontifical right, confirmed and approved by the Holy See. The Constitutions, approved by the Holy See, define its pastoral commitments. Its members elect the officers for the entire Society and for each of the three provinces. In each pastoral activity they always work as a team.


Service to the diocesan priesthood - The commitment of the Priests of Saint Sulpice towards God and the Church is accomplished through the service to diocesan priests. Their primary mandate is to assist bishops in the preparation of candidates for the priesthood and in the ongoing formation of priests.


What qualities do we seek in the aspiring candidates to Saint Sulpice?

Parish Experience - Before an priest joins the Society, the Sulpicians require that the aspiring candidate would have completed at least two years of parish ministry, an experience which enabled him to develop a strong sense of belonging to his diocese and a commitment to priestly ministry. Indeed, they need priests who live and love their priesthood and who want to assist bishops in the service of diocesan seminarians and priests.

Ability to work as a team - The Sulpicians look for candidates able to work in a community environment and to work collegially on a mission in harmony with fellow priests as well as with lay or religious persons.

Ability to share one’s faith through a life of prayer that nourishes a real enthusiasm for Christ and his Gospel, for the Church and the priesthood. The apostolic spirit that animated their founder, Father Jean-Jacques Olier, is the source of this sharing.

Individual talents that open the way to intellectual and professional preparation of quality in several areas: spiritual direction, teaching of philosophy or of theology, pastoral leadership. This implies an openness to learning the Sulpician pedagogy that is being constantly renewed.


How can a priest become a Sulpician?

Prerequisites - To be a diocesan priest incardinated in a diocese, to have completed at least two years of parish ministry in his diocese of origin and to be available to serve in the pastoral works of the Canadian Province of the Priests of Saint Sulpice.

Initial Discernment – If a priest meets these prerequisites, he may contact the person responsible for the Sulpician vocations for his region (see the list below). He will provide information on the periodic meetings held for the aspiring candidates to the Society and will be in charge of this first experience with Saint Sulpice until the moment when the  Provincial Council will accept him as a candidate. His participation in these meetings will give him sufficient information about the Society and the requirements of Sulpician life. This priest will also be accompanied spiritually in the discernment of his possible Sulpician vocation.

Candidacy - After this period of discernment, with the support of the person responsible for Sulpician vocations of the region, the priest asks his bishop for a written autorisation to have an experience with Saint Sulpice. The aspiring candidate then presents his candidacy by writing to the Provincial Superior or with the Provincial Delegate.

First experience with Saint Sulpice - If he is accepted and formally admitted as a candidate, the Provincial Council becomes directly responsible for his experience with the Priests of Saint Sulpice. It then takes over the care of the candidate and gives him a first appointment within a team of the Canadian Province from the moment his bishop released him from his diocesan duties. This first experience in the Society usually lasts at least two years.

Training stages - During this first experience as a candidate, the priest participates in the Sulpician formation program:
  • Periodic meetings of the candidates.
  • Solitude – a program of extended formation lasting six months, bringing together candidates from the provinces of France and Canada. This formation period offers detailed information on the history, mission, spirituality and pedagogy of the Society. It is nourished by intense personal and communal prayer, celebration of the Eucharist and the Divine Office, group sharing and individual spiritual direction.
  • The Sulpician Month – is organized about every three years, usually in July in Paris. This program brings together participants of three provinces: France, Canada and the United States. This session has three objectives:
    • mutual knowledge of the various participants, their country and their Church of origin
    • learning the history and the traditions of Saint Sulpice
    • visit of the sites of Sulpician origins in France.
Admission
  • Subsequently, after a new discernment, the candidate may seek temporary admission into the Society. “As a general rule the interval between temporary and definitive admission should be not less than one year and no more than five years.”  (Constitutions, Art. 53). If necessary, he completes studies of the 2nd or 3rd cycle.
  • Finally, he may then ask for definitive admission.

Whom to contact for more information?


In all of the Province :

http://www.sulpc.org/Jacques_DArcy.jpg

Fr. Jacques D'Arcy, PSS
Provincial Superior

Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice

116, rue Notre-Dame Ouest

Montréal, Qc.
CANADA, H2Y 1T2

Ph.: (514) 849-6561, ext. 305

Email: provincial@sulpc.org

In Colombia:

joaquin_cortes.png

Fr. Joaquín E. Cortés T., PSS
Provincial Delegate in Latin America 

Casa Sacerdotal de San Sulpicio 

Carrera 62 No 172-41, Barrio San José de Bavaria 

Bogotá, D.C., Colombia A.S.

Ph.: (57-1) 679-0736, ext. 209

Fax: (57-1) 487-0225

Email: vocacionespss.colombia@sulpc.org

In the Montreal region:

demers_m_deiftm.jpg

Fr. Marcel Demers, PSS
Grand Séminaire de Montréal

2065, rue Sherbrooke Ouest

Montréal, (Québec) H3H 1G6


Ph.: (514) 935-1169, ext. 207

Email: vocationspss.montreal@sulpc.org


argiro_restrepo_100.jpg

Fr. Argiro Restrepo, PSS
Grand Séminaire de Montréal

2065, rue Sherbrooke Ouest

Montréal, (Québec) H3H 1G6


Ph.: (514) 935-1169, ext. 205

Email: vocationspss.montreal@sulpc.org

In Rome:

http://www.sulpc.org/eric_sylvestre.jpg

Fr. Éric Sylvestre, PSS
Pontifical Canadian College

75, Via Crescenzio 

00193 Rome, Italie

Ph.: (39-06) 684.02113
Fax: (39-06) 684.02107

Email: vocazionipss.roma@sulpc.org

Au Japon :

Alexis_Mitsuru_Shikrahama.png

Fr. Alexis Mitsuru Shikrahama, PSS
Japan Catholic Seminary

1-1-1 Matsuyama, Jonan-ku

Fukuoka 814-0131, JAPAN

Ph. : (81-3) 3920-2121
Fax : (81-3) 5991-0605
Email: vocationspss.japan@sulpc.org

In Brazil:

Marco Antonio Forero.jpg

Fr. Marco Antonio Forero, PSS
Seminário Maior Arquidiocesano de Brasília
Estrada Parque Dom Bosco SHIS-QI 17 LAGO SUL
Caixa Postal 7026, CEP 71.645-600-DF-BRASIL

Ph. : (55-61) 3367-9921
Fax : (55-61) 3253-9310
Email: vacacoespss.brasil1@sulpc.org

In the Canadian West:

http://www.sulpc.org/Shayne_Craig.jpg

Fr. Shayne Craig, PSS
St. Joseph Seminary
9828 - 84 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta
T6A 0B2 CANADA

Ph.: (780) 392-2445, p. 6222
Email: vocationspss.west1@sulpc.org


Augusto_Garcia.png

Fr. Augusto García, PSS
St. Joseph Seminary
9828 - 84 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta
T6A 0B2 CANADA

Ph.: (780) 392-2445, p. 6225
Email: vocationspss.west2@sulpc.org

Person responsible for the formation of candidates and for the Solitude:

argiro_restrepo_100.jpg

Fr. Argiro Restrepo, PSS
Grand Séminaire de Montréal
2065, rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Montréal, Québec
H3H 1G6 CANADA

Ph.: (514) 935-1169, ext. 205
Courriel : solitudepss.canada@sulpc.org



Prayer for Sulpician Vocations


Lord, You said:
“If in my name you ask me for anything, I will do it.” (Jn 14: 14).
We wish to ask You at this time
to bless the work of the Sulpician Fathers;
send us Holy Priests in abundance
to be at the service of the Divine Ministry
of initial and permanent priestly formation.

Give the Apostolic Spirit
to those whom You call,
filling them with humility, goodness,
patience, zeal, charity
and a spirit of evangelical poverty,
so that possessing all that is necessary
for exercising their mission
as formators and spiritual directors,
they may guide many of their brothers to holiness.

Holy Spirit, Interior Master,
we ask that through contemplating in prayer
the interior lives of Jesus and Mary,
these priests may abandon themselves to You,
and thus live supremely for God in Christ Jesus.

Amen.


ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_devenir_sulpicien_en.html

© 2018 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer
friendly version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
Devenir sulpicien

Devenir Sulpicien
Qui sont les Sulpiciens ? 

Prêtres diocésains - Les Sulpiciens forment une société composée de prêtres diocésains qui, après avoir reçu l'autorisation de leur évêque, s'engagent dans le ministère propre à la Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice.

Vie communautaire - La Compagnie de Saint-Sulpice est une société de vie apostolique de droit pontifical confirmée et approuvée par le Saint-Siège. Des Constitutions approuvées par le Saint-Siège règlent ses engagements pastoraux. Ses membres élisent les dirigeants pour l'ensemble de la Compagnie et pour chacune des trois provinces. Dans chaque oeuvre, le travail se poursuit en équipe.

Service du sacerdoce diocésain - L'engagement des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice envers Dieu et l'Église se réalise dans le service des prêtres diocésains. Leur mandat principal est d'assister les évêques dans la préparation des candidats à la prêtrise et dans la formation permanente des prêtres.

Quelles qualités recherche-t-on chez les aspirants à Saint-Sulpice ?

Expérience en paroisse - Avant qu'un aspirant se joigne à la Compagnie, les Sulpiciens tiennent à ce qu'un aspirant ait complété au moins deux ans de travail en paroisse, expérience qui lui aura permis de développer un sens fort d'appartenance à son diocèse et un attachement au ministère presbytéral. En effet, ils ont besoin de prêtres qui vivent et aiment leur sacerdoce et qui désirent assister les évêques dans le service des séminaristes et des prêtres diocésains.

Aptitude au travail en équipe - Les Sulpiciens recherchent des candidats aptes à travailler dans un environnement communautaire et capables d'oeuvrer collégialement à une mission en concertation avec des collègues prêtres aussi bien qu'avec des laïcs ou des religieux.

Savoir partager sa foi grâce à une vie de prière qui nourrisse un enthousiasme vrai pour le Christ et son Évangile, pour l'Église et le sacerdoce. L'Esprit apostolique qui animait leur fondateur, M. Jean-Jacques Olier, est à la source de ce partage.

Dons particuliers qui ouvrent à une préparation intellectuelle et professionnelle de qualité dans plusieurs domaines : accompagnement spirituel, enseignement de la philosophie ou de la théologie, animation pastorale. Cela suppose l'ouverture à l'apprentissage d'une pédagogie sulpicienne constamment renouvelée.

Comment un prêtre peut-il devenir Sulpicien ?

Conditions préalables - Être un prêtre diocésain incardiné dans un diocèse, avoir complété au moins deux ans de ministère paroissial dans son diocèse d'origine et être disponible à servir dans les oeuvres de la Province canadienne des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice.

Discernement initial - Si un prêtre répond à ces conditions préalables, il peut contacter le responsable des vocations sulpiciennes pour sa région (voir la liste ci-dessous). Il l'informera sur les rencontres périodiques organisées pour les aspirants à la Compagnie et il sera en charge de cette première expérience avec Saint-Sulpice jusqu'au moment où le Conseil provincial l'acceptera comme candidat. Sa participation à ces rencontres lui donnera des renseignements suffisants sur la Compagnie et sur les exigences de la vie sulpicienne. Ce prêtre sera aussi accompagné spirituellement dans le discernement de sa possible vocation sulpicienne.

Candidature - Après ce temps de discernement, avec l'appui du responsable des vocations sulpiciennes de sa région, il demande à son évêque l'autorisation écrite de faire une expérience à Saint-Sulpice. L'aspirant présente alors sa candidature en communiquant par écrit avec le supérieur provincial ou avec le délégué provincial.

Première expérience à Saint-Sulpice - S'il est accepté et admis formellement comme candidat, le Conseil provincial devient directement responsable de son expérience avec les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice. Il le prend alors en charge et lui donne une première nomination dans une équipe de la Province canadienne à partir du moment où son évêque l'a libéré de ses fonctions. Habituellement, cette première expérience dans la Compagnie dure au moins deux ans.

Stages de formation - Durant cette première expérience à titre de candidat, ce dernier prend part au programme sulpicien de formation :

  • Rencontres périodiques des candidats.
  • Solitude - un programme de formation approfondie de six mois regroupant les candidats des provinces de la France et du Canada. Cette période de formation donne des informations détaillées sur l'histoire, la mission, la spiritualité et la pédagogie de la Compagnie. Elle est nourrie d'une intense prière individuelle et communautaire, célébration de l'Eucharistie et de l'Office divin, échanges en groupe et accompagnement spirituel individuel.
  • Mois sulpicien - se tient à peu près à tous les trois ans, habituellement en juillet à Paris. Ce programme regroupe des participants des trois provinces : France, Canada et États-Unis. Cette session vise trois objectifs :
    • connaissance réciproque des divers participants, de leur pays et de leur Église d'origine,
    • histoire et traditions de Saint-Sulpice,
    • visite des lieux sulpiciens des origines en France.
Admission
  • Par la suite, après un nouveau discernement, le candidat peut demander l'admission temporaire dans la Compagnie. " En règle générale, entre l'admission temporaire et l'admission définitive, il ne doit s'écouler ni moins d'un an, ni plus de cinq ans " (Constitutions, art. 53). Si nécessaire, il complète des études de 2e ou de 3e cycle.
  • Enfin, il lui est loisible alors de postuler l'admission définitive.


Qui contacter pour obtenir plus d'information?

En toute la Province :

http://www.sulpc.org/Jacques_DArcy.jpg


M. Jacques D'Arcy, PSS

Supérieur provincial
Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice
116, rue Notre-Dame Ouest
Montréal, Québec
H2Y 1T2 CANADA

Tél. : (514) 849-6561, poste 305
Courriel : provincial@sulpc.org

En Colombie :

joaquin_cortes.png


M.
Joaquín E. Cortés T., PSS
Délégué provincial en Amérique latine
Casa Sacerdotal de San Sulpicio
Carrera 62 No 172-41, Barrio San José de Bavaria
Bogotá, D.C., Colombia A.S.

Tél. : (57-1) 679-0736, poste 209
Fax : (57-1) 487-0225
Courriel : vocacionespss.colombia@sulpc.org

En la région de Montréal :

demers_m_deiftm.jpg


M.
Marcel Demers, PSS
Grand Séminaire de Montréal
2065, rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Montréal, Québec
H3H 1G6 CANADA
 
Tél. : (514) 935-1169, poste 207
Courriel : vocationspss.montreal@sulpc.org


argiro_restrepo_100.jpg

M. Argiro Restrepo, PSS
Grand Séminaire de Montréal
2065, rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Montréal, Québec
H3H 1G6 CANADA
 
Tél. : (514) 935-1169, poste 205
Courriel : vocationspss.montreal@sulpc.org

À Rome :

http://www.sulpc.org/eric_sylvestre.jpg


M. Éric Sylvestre, PSS

Collège Pontifical Canadien
75, Via Crescenzio
00193 Rome, ITALY

Tél. : (39-06) 684.02113
Fax : (39-06) 684.02107
Courriel : vocazionipss.roma@sulpc.org

Au Japon :

Alexis_Mitsuru_Shikrahama.png


M. Alexis Mitsuru Shikrahama, PSS

Japan Catholic Seminary
1-1-1 Matsuyama, Jonan-ku
Fukuoka 814-0131, JAPAN

Tél. : (81-3) 3920-2121
Fax : (81-3) 5991-0605
Courriel : vocationspss.japan@sulpc.org

Au Brésil :

Marco Antonio Forero.jpg


M. Marco Antonio Forero, PSS

Seminário Maior Arquidiocesano de Brasília
Estrada Parque Dom Bosco SHIS-QI 17 LAGO SUL
Caixa Postal 7026, CEP 71.645-600-DF-BRASIL

Tél. : (55-61) 3367-9921
Fax : (55-61) 3253-9310
Courriel : vacacoespss.brasil1@sulpc.org

Dans l'Ouest Canadien :

http://www.sulpc.org/Shayne_Craig.jpg


M. Shayne Craig, PSS

St. Joseph Seminary
9828 - 84 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta
T6A 0B2 CANADA

Tél. (780) 392-2445, p. 6222
Courriel : vocationspss.west1@sulpc.org


Augusto_Garcia.png


M.
Augusto García, PSS
St. Joseph Seminary
9828 - 84 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta
T6A 0B2 CANADA

Tél. (780) 392-2445, p. 6225
Courriel : vocationspss.west2@sulpc.org

Responsable de la formation des candidats et de la Solitude

argiro_restrepo_100.jpg


M. Argiro Restrepo, PSS

Grand Séminaire de Montréal
2065, rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Montréal, Québec
H3H 1G6 CANADA

Tél. : (514) 935-1169, poste 205
Courriel : solitudepss.canada@sulpc.org




Prière pour des vocations sulpiciennes

Seigneur, tu as dit :
" Si vous me demandez quelque chose
en invoquant mon nom, je le ferai. " (Jn 14, 14).
Nous te demandons à ce moment
de bénir le travail des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice.
Envoie-nous de nombreux et saints prêtres
pour être au service du Ministère Divin
de la formation sacerdotale initiale et permanente.

Que ton Esprit Apostolique
descende sur ceux que tu appelles
en les remplissant d'humilité, de bonté,
de patience, de zèle, de charité
et de l'esprit évangélique de pauvreté,
afin que, possédant tout ce qui est nécessaire
pour l'exercice de leur mission
de formateurs et de directeurs spirituels,
ils puissent guider beaucoup de leurs frères à la sainteté.

Esprit Saint, Maître Intérieur,
nous te demandons que ces prêtres,
par la contemplation dans la prière
des vies intérieures de Jésus et de Marie,
puissent s'abandonner à toi
et ainsi vivre souverainement pour Dieu en Jésus Christ.

Amen.




ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_devenir_sulpicien.html

© 2017 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour
imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu