www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
Canadian Pontifical College

Canadian Pontifical College Canadian Pontifical College
Via Crescenzio 75
00193 Rome, Italy

Contact: Fr. Éric Sylvestre, PSS, Rector
Ph.: (39) 06.684.02113
Secretariat ph.: (39) 06.684.0211
Fax: (39) 06.684.02107
Email: collegio.canadese@sulpc.org

In 1888, the Canadian Province opens in Rome the Canadian Pontifical College, a residence for Canadian and Sulpician priests who come to pursue graduate studies in various universities in the Eternal City. On May 6, 1932, a decree of the Roman Congregation for Seminaries and Universities officially recognizes the College as a pontifical institution. On August 21, 1937, a royal decree grants the civil recognition of the College’s Corporation whose rector is its legal representative.

  http://www.sulpc.org/College_canadien_3.jpgAt the beginning of its existence, the College occupies the 117, Via Quattro Fontane, a magnificent four-storey building that could receive about fifty residents. In 1974, a significant reduction of the number of candidates for the studies obliges Saint Sulpice to sell this house and to occupy one floor of the St. John Nepomucen Pontifical College at  1, Via Concordia.


During the months of September and October of 1977, the Canadian College moves to 75, Via Crescenzio in the General House of the Ursuline Sisters of the Sacred Mount of Varallo, a building it rents in a large part, situated a few minutes of walk from the St. Peter's Basilica.

In November 1988, the College celebrates the centenary of its foundation. During a banquet at the House of St. Martha, His Holiness Pope John Paul II, speaking to the Cardinals, the Bishops, the priests and the friends of the College who attended the party, summed up very well the role of House:

Establishing a College in Rome allows the students to have a different experience of university life from the one of their respective countries and, at the same time, to complete it. They have the opportunity to benefit from the contribution of teachers coming from nearly all nations of the world. Through daily personal contact with other students, they become aware of the aspirations and the interests of priests, monks and nuns coming from other cultures with an experience of Church life different from theirs. Concretely, in Rome students can also discover the universality of the Church, her diversity as well as the richness of its unity.

In November 2005, after a several-year process that involved the various bodies of the Society and of the College, the Congregation for Catholic Education approved the Statutes and the Directory of the Canadian Pontifical College. In this way, the College enjoys the criteria and guidelines that are up to date and accurate, in accordance with the teaching of the Church and with the pedagogy of the Priests of Saint Sulpice in regard to the ongoing formation of priests.


Housing


In addition to spaces for communal living such as the chapel, the dining room and the library, the College has 21 rooms equipped with a bathroom,  soundproof windows, a direct-dial telephone and an Internet connection.

At the beginning of the academic year, in late September or early October, the College welcomes the student priests. They may remain in the house until the end of June. During July and August, and most of September, the house is closed.


http://www.sulpc.org/PCC-CHAPEL1.jpg

http://www.sulpc.org/sylvestre_eric_collcan_en.jpg
Fr. Éric Sylvestre, PSS
Rector
Canadian Pontifical College

Residents

Since September 2008, Fr. Éric Sylvestre runs the house as the Rector. He currently hosts about twenty student priests.

These priests are studying in different institutions: the Gregorian University, the Pontifical Biblical Institute, the Lateran University (the John Paul II Institute for Family and the Pastoral Institute), the Alphonsian Academy, the Teresianum Theological Faculty (Spirituality), the Saint Anselm Pontifical Athenaeum (Liturgy), the University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum) or the Urbaniana University.


The residents of the Canadian College 2012-2013.


http://www.sulpc.org/College_canadien_2.jpg

Studies in Rome

Usually the priests prepare a license or a doctorate in one of the ecclesiastical sciences. However, they can also engage in a particular program during a sabbatical period.

The academic year comprises two semesters. The first usually begins in mid-October and ends with exams in early February. The second extends from mid-February to late June.

Normally, there are about three weeks of holidays at Christmas and two weeks at Easter.


Visitors

During the months of its activity (from October to June), the College usually has some rooms available to accommodate some overnight guests.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_college_pontifical_canadien_en.html

© 2017 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer friendly version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
Le Collège Pontifical Canadien

Collège pontifical canadien Collège Pontifical Canadien
Via Crescenzio, 75

00193 Rome, Italie

Contacter : M. Éric Sylvestre, p.s.s., recteur

Tél.: (39) 06.684.02113
Secrétariat (39) 06.684.0211
Fax: (39) 06.684.02107
Courriel: collegio.canadese@sulpc.org

Dossier spécial
125e anniversaire de la fondation du Collège Pontifical Canadien


En 1888, la province canadienne inaugure à Rome le Collège Pontifical Canadien, une résidence destinée aux prêtres canadiens et aux sulpiciens qui viennent poursuivre des études supérieures dans les diverses universités de la Ville éternelle. Le 6 mai 1932, un décret de la Congrégation Romaine des Séminaires et Universités reconnaît officiellement le Collège comme institution pontificale. Le 21 août 1937, un décret royal http://www.sulpc.org/College_canadien_3.jpgaccorde la reconnaissance civile à la Corporation du Collège dont le recteur est le représentant légal.

À ses débuts, le Collège occupe le 117 Via Quattro Fontane, un magnifique édifice de quatre étages qui pouvait recevoir une cinquantaine de résidants. En 1974, une diminution notable des candidats aux études oblige Saint-Sulpice à vendre cette maison pour occuper un étage du Collège Pontifical Saint-Jean Népomucène au 1 Via Concordia.

Au cours des mois de septembre et d'octobre 1977, le Collège Canadien emménage au 75 Via Crescenzio, dans la Maison Générale des Soeurs Ursulines del Sacro Monte de Varallo, édifice qu'il loue en grande partie, à quelques minutes de marche de la Basilique Saint-Pierre.

Le Collège célèbre en novembre 1988 le centenaire de sa fondation. Au cours d'un banquet offert à la Maison Sainte-Marthe, Sa Sainteté le Pape Jean-Paul II, s'adressant aux Cardinaux, aux Évêques, aux prêtres et aux amis du Collège qui participaient à la fête, résumait bien le rôle de la Maison :

" L'établissement d'un Collège à Rome permet aux étudiants d'avoir une expérience différente de la vie universitaire de leurs pays respectifs et en même temps de la compléter. Ils ont l'opportunité de profiter de la contribution de professeurs provenant de presque toutes les nations du monde. Grâce au contact personnel quotidien avec d'autres étudiants, ils deviennent conscients des aspirations et des intérêts des prêtres, des religieux et des religieuses d'autres cultures et possédant une expérience de vie en Église différente de la leur. De manière concrète, à Rome, les étudiants peuvent également découvrir l'universalité de l'Église, sa diversité et la richesse de son unité " .

En novembre 2005, après un processus de quelques années qui a engagé les diverses instances de la Compagnie et du Collège, la Congrégation pour l'éducation catholique approuve les Statuts et le Directoire du Collège Pontifical Canadien. De cette façon, le Collège bénéficie des critères et des orientations à jour et précis, conformément aux dispositions de l'Église et la pédagogie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice en ce qui concerne la formation permanente des prêtres.

Logement

En plus des espaces pour la vie commune comme la chapelle, la salle à manger et la bibliothèque, le Collège dispose de 21 chambres dotées d'une salle d'eau, de fenêtres insonorisées, d'une ligne téléphonique et d'une connexion Internet.

Au début de l'année scolaire, fin septembre ou début octobre, le Collège accueille les prêtres étudiants. Ces étudiants peuvent demeurer dans la maison jusqu'à la fin juin. Durant juillet et août, et la majeure partie de septembre, la maison est fermée.


http://www.sulpc.org/PCC-CHAPEL1.jpg

http://www.sulpc.org/sylvestre_eric_collcan.jpg

Les résidents

Depuis septembre 2008, Monsieur Éric Sylvestre dirige la maison à titre de Recteur. Il accueille actuellement une vingtaine de prêtres étudiants.


Ces prêtres étudient dans différentes institutions: l'Université Grégorienne, l'Institut Biblique Pontifical, l'Université du Latran (Institut Jean-Paul II pour la famille et Institut de Pastorale), l'Académie Alphonsienne, la Faculté théologique Teresianum (Spiritualité), l'Athénée Pontifical Saint-Anselme (Liturgie), l'Université Saint-Thomas d'Aquin (Angelicum) ou encore l'Université Urbaniana.



Les résidents du Collège Canadien 2013-2014


http://www.sulpc.org/College_canadien_2.jpgÉtudes à Rome

Habituellement les prêtres préparent une licence ou un doctorat dans une des sciences ecclésiastiques. Toutefois, on peut également s'engager dans un programme particulier au cours d'une période sabbatique.

L'année universitaire comporte deux semestres. Le premier commence ordinairement à la mi-octobre, pour se terminer avec les examens du début de février. Le deuxième s'étend de la mi-février à la fin de juin.

Normalement, on prévoit environ trois semaines de vacances au temps de Noël et deux semaines à Pâques.


Visiteurs

Durant les mois d'activité (d'octobre à juin), le Collège dispose habituellement de quelques chambres libres pour recevoir des hôtes de passage.

ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/sulpc_college_pontifical_canadien.html

© 2014 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu