www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Home
A Word from the Provincial
Society
Province of Canada
News
Services
Pastoral Institutions
Becoming a Sulpician
Publications
Donations
Interaction
Site map
Members Area
Job Postings
Links
Search
A Brief History

A Brief History The Society of the Priests of Saint Sulpice in Canada

 

Jean-Jacques Olier
(1608-1657)

 
In March 2013, the Canadian Province of Saint Sulpice counts 92 members: 51 Canadians, 31 Colombians, 7 Japanese, 1 Ecuadorian, 1 Argentine and 1 Chilean. The Province also has 2 Colombian candidates. In addition, there are currently 4 Colombian aspirants under the responsibility of the Province and 19 aspirants (1 Argentines, 1 Canadian, 5 Brazilians and 12 Colombians).

The origin of the Society is closely linked to the great movement of Christian evangelization and renewal that has developed in France in the seventeenth century, and more immediately to the pastoral and missionary activity of Father Jean-Jacques Olier.

A disciple of Father Vincent de Paul and of Father Charles de Condren, Jean-Jacques Olier (1608-1657) took part in "missions" organized by them in France. He notes that this apostolic effort would not have a future without a reform of the clergy. On the advice of Father de Condren, he does not accept a bishopric offered to him because he feels called to "bear contemplation in the priesthood." Indeed, he will accomplish two important works: "One is the renewal of the Church in its districts, the other establishing a new church in Canada, where a Christian city will build, which is a work of a wonderful importance” (Dominique Deslandres, John A. Dickinson and Ollivier Hubert, Les Sulpiciens de Montréal. Une histoire de pouvoir et de discrétion 1657-2007, Montréal, Éditions Fides, 2007, p. 30; our translation).

In December 1641, with two other priests, he founds in Vaugirard, then a village near Paris, a formation house that receives young people preparing to become priests. Appointed a few months later pastor of the Parish of Saint Sulpice, he moves this small community to Paris, near the rectory. Other priests join him for the service of the seminary and the parish. Since then the members of the formation team are called the Messieurs de Saint Sulpice or Sulpicians. Thus was born the "Society of the Priests of Saint Sulpice”.

In the mind of Jean-Jacques Olier, this Small Society was to be limited to a small group of priests bound not by vows, but by priestly charity and by a gift of themselves in the service of formation of priests. They were to be nourished by a spiritual life characterized simultaneously by an apostolic spirit, a sense of adoration and an interior life, as well as by a strong missionary zeal (cf. Constitutions, Art. 1-5). The seminary is primarily a community of fraternal life among the candidates for ministry and the educators; the latter are above all spiritual masters exercising the ministry of spiritual direction.


The Old Saint Sulpice Seminary adjacent to the Notre Dame Basilica of Montreal. A residence of the Sulpicians since 1685.


Father Jean-Jacques Olier, preacher of popular missions, is very interested in the colony of New France. In 1639, he is one of the founders of the Notre-Dame-de-Montréal whose goal is to establish a colony in Ville-Marie (Montreal) in 1642 and to evangelize the Native People. Shortly before his death in 1657, Father Olier sends to Montreal four Sulpicians who take the succession of the Jesuit priests and provide ministry in the growing town. Father Gabriel Thubières de Levy de Queylus is the superior of this small team in charge of the Notre-Dame Parish to which 11 more rural parishes of the Island of Montreal will be added. The cult of the Virgin Mary, which occupies a central place in the Society leads the Sulpicians to take care of two chapels dedicated to Mary:
Beginning in 1668, several Sulpicians go off to evangelize the Native People: the Iroquois in the Bay of Quinte, north of Lake Ontario, the Mi'kmaq in Acadia, the Iroquois on the present site of Ogdensburg in the State of New York and, finally, the Algonquins in Abitibi and Témiscamingue.

Missionaries, explorers, priests and lords, the Sulpicians worked for the indigenous people, the population of Montreal and the nuns. Educators and humanitarians, they established schools, from primary to university levels, hospitals, institutions for the poor, libraries to encourage reading. Mindful of artistic beauty, they have supported artists who have marked the domains of painting, sculpture, architecture and music. Thus, they have contributed to the development of religious, social, economic and cultural life of Montreal. More than 70 names of avenues, streets, parks and squares in the city highlight the contribution of Sulpicians.

It was not until 1840 that at the request of His Excellency Ignace Bourget, Bishop of Montreal, the Sulpicians founded the Major Seminary of Montreal. To date over 6,000 priests have been formed in this House.

In 1888 opens in Rome the Pontifical Canadian College which hosts the Canadian priests and some priests candidates to Saint Sulpice who are studying in various universities in Rome.

To meet the educational needs of the city, Saint Sulpice founds in Montreal two classical colleges that, even today, continue their activities under the responsibility of private corporations distinct from the Society. As early as 1767, Father Jean Baptiste Curatteau of Blaiserie, PSS, accomplishes a pioneer work and opens the College of Montreal in his rectory of Long Point. This establishment moves in 1862 to a building nearby the Major Seminary and becomes, in 1968, an educational institution of secondary education.

In 1927, the Society of the Priests of Saint Sulpice establishes a non-resident classical college, the André Grasset College in the north of Montreal. This college adopted in 1970 the new formula of the CEGEP (Collège d’enseignement général et professionnel), offering a curriculum preparing for university, as well as some technical programs.

The missionary radiance of the Canadian Sulpicians to Japan in 1933 and then to Latin America in 1949, has been a great challenge for the Province. Pius XI, the great Pope of the Missions, knew very well Father Jean Verdier, Superior General of the Society of the Priests of Saint Sulpice (1929-1940), who later became cardinal archbishop of Paris, and he asked for his help. He thus continued the initiative of his predecessor, Benedict XV, to firmly establish indigenous churches in every country in the world, especially in Asia. He himself had appointed and ordained the first Japanese and Chinese bishops. At his request, he sensibilized all spiritual families to be interested in missionary work. Thus bishop Jean de Guébriant, Superior General of the Foreign Missions of Paris, former student of Saint Sulpice and missionary in China, strongly suggested to Pope Pius XI to accept help from Saint Sulpice for the formation of clergy in Asia.

In 1932, his excellence Albert Breton, bishop of Fukuoka, invites Saint Sulpice of Canada to establish in southern Japan a seminary for the formation of clergy for this region of Japan. Already before this, cardinal Verdier had assured the departure of the first two French Sulpicians for the founding of the Major Seminary of Hanoi, in Tonkin. During a visit to Canada in the summer of 1932, he urged the Provincial of the time, Father Roméo Neveu, to found a Seminary in the Country of the Rising Sun. He himself, during the following year 1933, will oversee the foundation of the  Major Seminary of Yunnan-fu in China.

In Canada and abroad, we witness the resumption of the missionary movement under the leadership of the already mentioned Pope Pius XI and the superior general, the future cardinal Jean Verdier. The Society undertakes the direction of several seminaries devoted to the formation of priests:

  • Canadian West
    • Saint Boniface in Manitoba - 1954-1968
  • Congo
    • Kinshasa - 1968-1972
  • Central America
    • Guatemala (Guatemala) - 1965-1970
    • Panamá (Panamá) - 1977-1988
    • Chitré (Panamá) - 2004-2007
  • Colombia
    • Manizales - 1949-2004
    • Bogotá - 1960-1980
    • Girardot - 2005
  • Argentine
    • Rosario - 1969-1973
  • Venezuela
    • Cumaná - 1971-1975
  • Honduras
    • Teguacigalpa - 1973-1975
  • Brazil
    • Londrina - 1994-2002

Other institutions where the Sulpician ministry of formation continues: In addition, the Sulpicians of the Province of Canada collaborate since 1980 with the Instituto de Teologia Pastoral para América Latina (ITEPAL), especially by providing leadership during the period of 1981-1988. Many Sulpicians are collaborating there since 1989 as invited professors for various courses and sessions.

In 1972, the Provincial Delegation of the Priests of Saint Sulpice in Colombia for the Region of Latin America is established. It has its headquarters in Bogota, the capital of Colombia.

The year 2007 marked the 350th anniversary of the arrival of the first Sulpicians in Montreal. The General Council, the provincial superiors, the Sulpicians of the Montreal area, the religious communities linked with the Canadian Province of the Priests of Saint Sulpice, the Catholic Bishops Conference of Canada, the local church, the public authorities and the Montreal population have participated in the celebration of this anniversary. Several Eucharistic celebrations, conferences, exhibitions, radio broadcasts, concerts and other events of commemoration have been organized. An important book, Les Sulpiciens de Montréal. Une histoire de pouvoir et de discrétion 1657-2007, was published in order to present in a scientific manner the presence and activity of the Society of the Priests of Saint Sulpice in Canada.

In 2008, (reported to February 2009), the Canadian Province celebrated the 75th anniversary of the arrival of Canadian missionaries in Japan and the 60th anniversary of the founding of the Saint Sulpice Seminary of Fukuoka. This year also marked the 400th birthday anniversary of Father Jean-Jacques Olier.

In 2009, the Society commemorates the 60th anniversary of the arrival of the first Canadian Sulpician missionaries in Colombia.


ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/hist_en.html

© 2018 The Priests of Saint Sulpice of Montreal. All rights reserved. | Realization
Printer friendly
version  Print
Comments
Refer
Menu

www.sulpc.org www.sulpc.org
Accueil
Mot du Provincial
Compagnie
Province du Canada
Quoi de neuf
Services
Oeuvres
Devenir sulpicien
Publications
Dons
Interaction
Plan du site
Espace privé
Offres d'emploi
Liens
Recherche
Bref historique

La Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice au Canada

 

Jean-Jacques Olier
(1608-1657)

 

En mars 2013, la Province canadienne de Saint-Sulpice compte 92 membres : 51 canadiens, 31 colombiens, 7 japonais, un équatorien, un chilien et un argentin. La Province a aussi deux candidats colombiens. S’y ajoutent actuellement : quatre aspirants colombiens pris en charge et 19 aspirants (un argentin, un canadien, cinq brésiliens et 12 colombiens).

L'origine de la Compagnie est intimement liée au grand mouvement d'évangélisation et de rénovation chrétienne qui s'est développé en France au XVIIe siècle, et plus immédiatement à l'activité missionnaire et pastorale de M. Jean-Jacques Olier.

Disciple de M. Vincent de Paul et du Père Charles de Condren, Jean-Jacques Olier (1608-1657) prend part aux « missions » organisées par eux en France. Il constate que cet effort apostolique serait sans lendemain sans une réforme du clergé. Sur le conseil du Père de Condren, il renonce à l'épiscopat qu'on lui offre parce qu’il se sent appelé à " porter la contemplation dedans le sacerdoce ". En effet, il réalisera deux œuvres importantes : " l’une est le renouvellement de l’Église dans ses quartiers, l’autre l’établissement d’une nouvelle Église en Canada, où l’on va bâtir une ville chrétienne, qui est une œuvre d’une merveilleuse importance " (Dominique DESLANDRES, John A. DICKINSON et Ollivier HUBERT, Les Sulpiciens de Montréal. Une histoire de pouvoir et de discrétion 1657-2007, Montréal, Éditions Fides, 2007, p. 30).

En décembre 1641, avec deux autres prêtres, il fonde à Vaugirard, alors village proche de Paris, une maison de formation qui reçoit les jeunes se préparant à devenir prêtres. Nommé quelques mois plus tard curé de la paroisse Saint-Sulpice, il transporte cette petite communauté à Paris, près du presbytère. D'autres prêtres se joignent à lui pour assurer le service du séminaire et de la paroisse. Dès lors, on donne aux membres de l'équipe de formateurs le nom de Messieurs de Saint-Sulpice ou encore de Sulpiciens. Ainsi, naît la " Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice ".

Dans la pensée de M. Jean-Jacques Olier, cette petite Compagnie devait se limiter à un groupe de prêtres peu nombreux liés non par des voeux, mais par la charité sacerdotale et le don d'eux-mêmes au service de la formation des prêtres. Ils devaient être animés d'une vie spirituelle caractérisée tout à la fois par l'esprit apostolique, le sens de l'adoration et la vie intérieure de même que par un fort zèle missionnaire (cf. Constitutions, art. 1-5). Le séminaire constitue avant tout une communauté de vie fraternelle entre les candidats au ministère et les éducateurs; ceux-ci sont avant tout des maîtres spirituels exerçant le ministère de la direction spirituelle.

 

Vieux séminaire de Saint-Sulpice, attenant à la Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal. Résidence des Sulpiciens depuis 1685.

 

M. Jean-Jacques Olier, prédicateur des missions populaires, s'intéresse beaucoup à la colonie de la Nouvelle-France. En 1639, il est un des fondateurs de la Société Notre-Dame de Montréal qui se donne comme objectif : établir une colonie à Ville-Marie (Montréal) en 1642 et évangéliser les Amérindiens. Peu de temps avant sa mort, en 1657, M. Olier, envoie à Montréal quatre Sulpiciens qui prennent la succession des Pères jésuites et assurent le ministère dans la ville naissante. M. Gabriel Thubières de Levy de Queylus est le supérieur de cette petite équipe qui prend en charge la paroisse Notre-Dame à laquelle s'ajouteront par la suite 11 paroisses rurales dans l'Île de Montréal. Le culte de la Vierge Marie, qui occupe une place centrale dans la Compagnie, amène les Sulpiciens à prendre en charge deux chapelles consacrées à Marie :

· En 1670, la Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours située près de l'église Notre-Dame

· Puis en 1881, la Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, voisine de l'église Saint-Jacques qui sera érigée en paroisse en 1904 et desservie par les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice.

À compter de 1668, plusieurs Sulpiciens vont au loin évangéliser les Amérindiens : les Iroquois à la Baie de Kenté, au nord du lac Ontario, les Micmacs en Acadie, les Iroquois sur l'emplacement actuel d'Ogdensburg dans l'État de New York et, enfin, les Algonquins en Abitibi et au Témiscamingue.

Missionnaires, explorateurs, curés et seigneurs, les Sulpiciens ont œuvré auprès des autochtones, de la population montréalaise et des religieuses. Éducateurs et humanitaires, ils ont établi des écoles, du primaire aux facultés universitaires, des hôpitaux, des organismes pour les pauvres et des bibliothèques pour favoriser la lecture. Soucieux du beau, ils ont soutenu des artistes qui ont marqué les domaines de la peinture, de la sculpture, de l’architecture, de la musique. Ils ont ainsi contribué au développement de la vie religieuse, sociale, économique et culturelle à Montréal. Plus de 70 noms d’avenues, de chemins, de parcs, de places et de rues dans la Ville soulignent l’apport des Sulpiciens.

Il faudra attendre 1840 pour qu'à la demande de Mgr Ignace Bourget, évêque de Montréal, les Sulpiciens fondent le Grand Séminaire de Montréal. À ce jour, plus de 6,000 prêtres ont été formés dans cette Maison.

En 1888, s'ouvre à Rome le Collège Pontifical Canadien qui accueille les prêtres canadiens et quelques prêtres candidats à Saint-Sulpice qui font des études dans les universités romaines.

Pour répondre aux besoins scolaires du milieu, Saint-Sulpice fonde également à Montréal deux collèges classiques qui, aujourd'hui encore, poursuivent leurs activités sous la responsabilité de corporations privées distinctes de la Compagnie. Dès 1767, M. le curé Jean-Baptiste Curatteau de la Blaiserie, PSS, fait oeuvre de pionnier et ouvre le Collège de Montréal dans son presbytère de la Longue-Pointe. Cet établissement emménage en 1862 dans un bâtiment voisin du Grand Séminaire et devient, en 1968, une institution d'enseignement d'études secondaires.

En 1927, la Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice établit un externat classique, le Collège André-Grasset dans le nord de Montréal. Ce collège, en 1970, adopte la nouvelle formule du CÉGEP, offrant un curriculum préparatoire à l'université, de même que quelques programmes techniques.

Le départ missionnaire des Sulpiciens canadiens vers le Japon en 1933, puis vers l'Amérique latine en 1949, a été un grand défi pour la Province. Pie XI, le grand Pape des Missions, connaissait bien M. Jean Verdier, Supérieur général de la Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice (1929-1940), futur cardinal archevêque de Paris, et il fit appel à son aide. Il poursuivait ainsi l'initiative de son prédécesseur Benoît XV d'établir solidement des Églises autochtones dans tous les pays du monde, surtout en Asie. Il avait lui-même nommé et ordonné les premiers évêques japonais et chinois. À sa demande, il avait sensibilisé toutes les familles spirituelles à s'intéresser à l'oeuvre des missions. Ainsi, Mgr Jean de Guébriant, Supérieur général des Missions Étrangères de Paris, ancien élève de Saint-Sulpice et missionnaire en Chine, avait suggéré fortement au pape Pie XI de recevoir l'aide de Saint-Sulpice pour la formation de clergé en Asie.

En 1932, Mgr Albert Breton, évêque de Fukuoka, invite Saint-Sulpice du Canada à établir au sud du Japon l'oeuvre des Séminaires en vue d'assurer la formation d'un clergé japonais pour cette région. Déjà, auparavant, le Cardinal Verdier avait assuré le départ des deux premiers Sulpiciens français en vue de la fondation du Grand Séminaire de Hanoï, au Tonkin. En visite au Canada à l'été 1932, il incite le Provincial de l'époque, M. Roméo Neveu, à fonder un séminaire au pays du Soleil levant. Lui-même, l'année suivante en 1933, veillera à la fondation du Grand Séminaire de Yunan-fu, en Chine.

Au Canada et à l'étranger, on assiste à la reprise du mouvement missionnaire sous l'impulsion du pape Pie XI et du supérieur général, le futur cardinal Jean Verdier. déjà mentionnés. La Compagnie assume la direction de plusieurs séminaires qui se consacrent à la formation des prêtres :

  • Dans l'Ouest canadien
    • St-Boniface au Manitoba - 1954-1968
  • Au Congo
    • Kinshasa - 1968-1972
  • En Amérique centrale
    • Guatemala (Guatemala) - 1965-1970
    • Panamá (Panamá) - 1977-1988
    • Chitré (Panamá) - 2004-2007 
  • En Colombie
    • Girardot - 2005
  • En Argentine
    • Rosario - 1969-1973
  • Au Venezuela
    • Cumaná - 1971-1975
  • Au Honduras
    • Teguacigalpa - 1973-1975
  • Au Brésil
    • Londrina - 1994-2002 

Autres institutions où se poursuit l'oeuvre sulpicienne de formation :

De plus, les Sulpiciens de la Province du Canada collaborent depuis 1980 à l'Instituto de Teología Pastoral para América Latina (ITEPAL), notamment en y assurant la direction de 1981 à 1988. De nombreux Sulpiciens y collaborent depuis 1989 à titre des professeurs invités annuellement pour divers cours et sessions.

En 1972, on constitue une Délégation provinciale des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice en Colombie pour la région de l'Amérique latine. Elle a son siège à Bogotá, capitale de la Colombie.

L'année 2007 marquait le 350e anniversaire de l'arrivée des premiers Sulpiciens à Montréal. Le Conseil général, les supérieurs provinciaux, les Sulpiciens de la région de Montréal, les communautés religieuses liées à la Province canadienne des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice, la Conférence des Évêques Catholiques du Canada, l'Église locale ainsi que les autorités publiques et la population montréalaise ont participé à la célébration de cet anniversaire. On a organisé plusieurs eucharisties, conférences, expositions, émissions de radio, concerts et autres événements de commémorationpdf. Un livre important, Les Sulpiciens de Montréal. Une histoire de pouvoir et de discrétion 1657-2007, a été publié pour présenter de façon scientifique la présence et l'activité de la Compagnie des Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice au Canada.

En 2008, [rapporté au février 2009], la Province canadienne a fêté le 75e anniversaire de l'arrivée des premiers missionnaires canadiens au Japon et le 60e anniversaire de la fondation du Séminaire Saint-Sulpice de Fukuoka. Cette année marquait aussi le 400e anniversaire de naissance de M. Jean-Jacques Olier.

En 2009, on commémore le 60e anniversaire de l'arrivée des premiers missionnaires sulpiciens canadiens en Colombie.


ed @ Peter Krasuski Source
    http://www.sulpc.org/ed/hist.html

© 2017 Les Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal. Tous droits réservés. | Réalisation
Version pour
imprimante  Imprimer
Commentaires
Recommander
Menu